skip navigation

Southwest Metro Football League

The SWML is a youth football league for grades 4 through 8, made up of traveling football teams from communities located in the southwest suburbs of the Twin Cities (Minnesota) metro area.

The cities that currently make up the SWML are:

  • Chanhassen
  • Chaska
  • Eden Prairie
  • Prior Lake
  • Orono
  • New Prague
  • Waconia

The league was created for youth football teams from the various member communities to play under a unified and agreeable format.  The intent of this league is to provide an environment to expose all players to all aspects of the game.  The SWML is not intended to supersede the community organization programs.

The league is not intended to be "win at all costs" but more development for the players while giving them competitive game situations to improve their skill set.

Our core philosophy is to teach the basic fundamentals needed to play the game of football and to promote sportsmanship.  We expect parents and coaches to provide good examples of sportsmanship to the players.

The league follows NFHS rules, with some exceptions spelled out in the league rules.